top of page
Search

Can the iPad really replace your computer?

Hey everyone, today we are going to explore the question of, can the iPad replace your computer! So let's find out!


The iPad lineup


So in its current state, it is very confusing in all honesty, and a bit of a mess. To begin with you've got the iPad 9th gen which is probably not something you're really considering as a ‘laptop replacement’ in all honesty, the dated design and mediocre display definitely don't make up for anything more than a basic tablet for basic tablet stuff (whatever that's supposed to be these days). One up from that you have the iPad 10th gen (yes the one with USB C that uses the lollipop pencil still) which has a newer design with a larger display but at the end of the day it's only slightly more powerful than the 9th gen and isnt really intended to be used for much more than basic activities either, even if it has a super expensive keyboard you can buy for it. Then we jump up to the iPad Air which may look the same as the iPad 10 but don't let that fool you! It rocks the M1 chip, the same chip that's in the baseline MacBook Air and the 24” iMac, which is pretty wild! It also supports more advanced accessories like the apple pencil 2 and the Magic Keyboard case. Then we have the almighty iPad Pro which has the brand new M2 chip inside of it and comes in two sizes, 11” and 12.9” and a bunch of PRO features, and is definitely marketed and geared up as a lapop replacement, but we'll get into that later! And not to forget the infamous iPad Mini, which you either seem to love or hate and to be honest I won't be talking about it today due to its size not really making it an option for a laptop replacement, but you can find my review of the iPad Mini on my blog page.




The state of iPadOS


So this is a very controversial subject. But I'm just going to say it, for tablet usage iPadOS works really well and runs very smoothly compared to the likes of its android counterparts. It's very similar to iOS too, so if you've ever used an iPhone then you'll be right at home with the iPad. The only problem is, now that people are using the iPad as more than just a tablet, is that iPadOS needs to catch up. Apple are marketing the iPad towards Pros and as a laptop replacement “your next computer isnt a computer”. So its obvious that Apple is gearing the iPad up to be more than just a tablet. iPadOS 16 did gain stage manager which is definitely one step closer to what people are looking for.


A lot of people are craving MacOS on the iPad or Pro apps to come to iPadOS. Personally, I think the current iPad software fills most people's basic computing needs, from taking notes, writing documents or some photo and video editing. There's a small niche that iPadOS isn't cutting it for, but I dont think putting MacOS on the iPad is the answer. Apple just needs to work on the limits of stage manager and potentially add pro apps to the iPad, which people have been begging for.



Do they have enough power


This highly varies from model to model and the needs of the user. Some people will get by just fine with one of the standard iPad models for some simple tasks like browsing the web and writing documents but some users may require a little more power which the iPad Air and Pro models can provide. So for most people at least, the answer is yes. iPads really don't have an issue with power or lack of power, if anything they have a lot of under utilised power. The newer iPads with the M series chips have a lot of potential in the software department that Apple will hopefully take advantage of. So again it comes down to the software really, its not taking advantage of what these chips really have to offer.



Could my iPad replace my MacBook?


Now for me, it probably could if I really wanted it to. I don't really do anything really power hungry which would require anything more than an M2 chip, I'm definitely not pushing the M1 Pro chip inside of my MacBook Pro 14”, I'm still yet to hear the fans even come on. But I do prefer MacOS for my workflow and the ease of plugging my Mac into my ultrawide monitor and using it as a desktop. The battery life on my MacBook is also unrivalled because it's much thicker than my iPad so there is room for a hefty battery. So the answer is yes if I wanted to I could buy a magic keyboard case for my iPad Pro and ditch my MacBook but there would be a few inconveniences and I would always have to use a small screen as iPads look awful plugged into ultrawide monitors.




Will I ever go iPad only?


The simple answer is no. I use my iPad as a tool to my MacBook. I'm not going to repeat everything that I've already said. The MacBook makes my life so much easier and as a creator, it's such a useful tool. Also if i ever do decide to take up something that does require more power, I already have it! And as per my past reviews I absolutely love my 14” MacBook Pro and have no reason to ditch it or even upgrade it at the moment. Maybe I'll jump to something newer in a few years when this one starts to get old, but for now, it's just so flawless.


My take is that if you have a desktop already, the iPad will ,most likely fulfil your on the go needs, and for a lot of people an iPad with a keyboard will replace the need for any kind of computer, especially the big boy 12.9” beast. But for some people, like myself, having a computer alongside your iPad is just easier. Yes I have my 11” iPad Pro, which is super light as I only have the Apple folio case on it, no keyboard, so it's perfect for light tasks and content consumption on the go but when I need a bigger screen, I can use my Mac instead nad because i like to move around alot, a MacBook is the ebay choice for me over a desktop Mac. There are\ a few people that just need the extra power and software that the iPad just doesnt have too, but you guys already know who you are.


I'd love to hear your thoughts! Do you rock the iPad only life or do you NEED a computer in your workflow? Let me know over on Instagram and Twitter! Thank you for reading.



bottom of page